top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ.V. Sadler

Dit Dit Dit Dah Dah Dah Dit Dit Dit

Translating to English


S.O.S.


Hello? Is anyone receiving this?

 

Please respond.


This is Ethereal Chicago writing from the Menia Craft. 


Does anyone copy?


If you’re reading this, I need assistance. I am lost beyond the asteroid belt. I am from Haven, Mars.


I hope these messages reach someone.


.

.

.


S.O.S.


Please respond.


Ethereal Chicago writing from the Menia Craft.


.

.

.


Shit. I really am lost out here, aren’t I?


I was traveling when I got hit. Okay, okay. I wasn't “traveling.” I was racing. Overturned. Got pulled in by Jupiter’s gravity. But I managed to thrust out of the grip. Then, I really did get hit by an asteroid.


Mom is going to absolutely destroy me when I get back.


I can’t believe this is fucking happening. I NEVER get hit. I know folks at Haven warn “Never go beyond the asteroid belt.” One gets tired of seeing those anti-racing posters posted all over the city.


One could say I’m sort of famous around these racing parts. I won against Takia Craft. Yes! I first got my Menia for my sixteenth birthday. When I stepped out of the compound to see the tiny thing floating, I could've sworn I was looking at a tin can. Soon, other teens would nickname Menia the P.O.T. Piece of Trash.


But, that was eight years ago. And I put everyone to shame with my racing skills. And I beat Takia fair and square.


Well, I guess every racer has their day. And today is my day.


.

.

.


S.O.S.


Please respond.


This is Ethereal Chicago writing from the Menia Craft.


S.O.S.


Send help.


.

.

.


One of my jets is kaput. I’m going to see if I can thrust with only one. Stand-by.


.

.

.


I’m good. But not THAT good. I ended up thrusting in circles trying to maneuver with just one jet.


If dad were still here, I know he’d be able to fly right out of this with one jet . . .


Anyways, I’m stuck here until somebody, probably another racer, sees me and they can send one of those huge convoy ships out to get me. I’ve seen those convoy ships in action only once. When the New Pangea Republic representatives from Earth came to visit Mars. Those big ships were sharks to our little minnow crafts.


And if you think I’m giving up racing after this, you’re dead wrong. Racing is my life. On Mars, all we do is mine, manufacture materials, eat, sleep, then do it all over again. Our “advanced civilization” is nothing but work. Racing gives me a chance to, well, be me.


Earth is much cooler. When I hear stories about people on New Pangea, it makes me want to grab my tin can Menia and hope it doesn’t completely burn up in Earth’s atmosphere trying to land on it. I heard that Earth was once made up of these continents. Like New Pangea was split up into these different land masses a long time ago.


I also heard that everyone pretty much hated each other back in the ancient days. But now, all I hear is what recent achievements New Pangea has reached. Ending world hunger (well, that was two hundred years ago, but whatever). And lately, the Artificial Intelligence Civil Rights Act (within the last sixty years.)


That’s all we study on Mars. All about how great Earth is. But up here on Mars? In Haven? Up here sucks.


.

.

.


I’m going to try to contact Mars. And maybe see if someone on Earth can help.


146 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Perseverance

Everything has been going well! A bit of rations and a couple of gulps of water a day have kept me going. The potatoes will take a week...

Hungry, Tired, and Hungry

Days. I’m sure I’ve been floating here for days. Every time I use my asteroid-hit thrusters, my Craft goes in circles. And when I send...

Earth, are you there?

I’m not quite sure how much time has passed. Maybe a day. I’m starving and I slept for just a few minutes at a time. I sent out a few...

Comments


bottom of page